Far too often, drivers in the state of Louisiana overlook the importance of having car insurance coverage. They think they can get by without having to pay a monthly premium so they can save a bit of money here and there. However, not having insurance is a bad idea.
No matter how much coverage the law requires people to have, nearly 13% of drivers on the road don’t carry coverage, and countless others carry less than adequate coverage. It’s vital for you to recognize the bare minimum that the Louisiana state law requires you to have.
How the Minimum Coverage Works
- Bodily Injury Per Person Per Accident: The minimum for this type of coverage is $15,000. This means that in a car accident, each person who suffers an injury is covered up to $15,000 by the negligent person’s insurance carrier.
- Bodily Injury for All Persons Per Accident: The minimum for this is $30,000. With this coverage, the insurance company will pay out no more than $30,000 for bodily injury in an accident. Many accidents involving more than two people exceed these limits.
- Property Damage Liability: The minimum for this is $25,000 and is used to cover the cost of all property damage in a given accident. This can include damage to a home, building, vehicle, or other property.
- Medical Payment Coverage: The minimum for this is $1,000 and can be denied if you choose to reject this type of coverage.
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage: The minimums for this type of coverage are $15,000 per person for bodily injury and $30,000 per accident. If there’s more than two people injured in excess of $15,000 in damages, the $30,000 minimum would not be enough to cover all damages.
While Louisiana is a fault state, and you most often go through the negligent party’s insurance provider, there are situations where your own insurance company may be needed. For instance, if the driver who crashes into you doesn’t have insurance, you want to have uninsured motorist coverage to protect your rights to compensation.
If you encounter a problem with the insurance company and your claim is wrongfully denied, Parker Alexander is here to help. Our Monroe car accident lawyers are ready to protect your rights throughout the entire process. Trust that we’re here for you every step of the way.
Call our firm today at (318) 625-6262 to discuss your rights.